Food in Review 03/21-03/28

This week had a lot of great cooking involved and included a lot of time at home since it was spring break and I got a few days off work 🙂 Colorado was hit hard with an unexpected blizzard but I truly enjoyed spending my time cooking, watching netflix, and hanging out with my husband.

Monday

We went to the grocery store and got the massive haul I posted about.  We also grabbed a roasted chicken and items from the salad bar for a quick and easy dinner.

Tuesday

I HEAVILY adapted Half Baked Harvest’s Chili Cashew Shrimp

  • First off, when I went to Sprouts they were out of raw shrimp…. so I used chicken instead
  • Secondly, I swapped the rice noodles for bean thread noodles
  • And lastly I adapted quite a few of the sauces to be paleo friendly

IMG_9977

Wednesday

The blizzard hit so I got to make a simple breakfast at home, had leftover Cashew Chicken, and made this AMAZING recipe by PaleOMG This is one of the rare times I followed the recipe without any adaptations (except I only marinated the chicken for 4 hours not 24….)

IMG_9979IMG_9991

Thursday

Another workday morning at home from the snow meant I had time to make a hot breakfast!  I used leftover coconut cauliflower rice from dinner and added cumin and chili powder so a great side to bacon and eggs!  For dinner I made Zenbelly’s Pan Roasted Chicken with Apples and Bacon and a side of butternut and acorn squash.  I mostly followed this recipe, except I cooked it all over the stove rather than in the oven.

IMG_9999IMG_0031

Friday

I had a few doctors appointments in the morning so I had a quick breakfast of Siggis whole milk yogurt topped with Qi’a grainfree cereal and almond butter. For lunch I went out to Mod Market and had a delicious strawberry and chicken salad and had leftover roasted chicken from the night before for dinner!

IMG_0037IMG_0042

Saturday

For breakfast I made Birch Benders Paleo Pancake Mix topped with cacao nibs and bananas with a side of eggs.  Dinner, I ended up making Foodie Crush’s Autumn Cobb Salad utilizing the other half of the acorn and butternut squash from Thursday’s dinner.  I also made some bone broth by simmering the leftover chicken with celery, garlic, onion, and bay leaves for the majority of the afternoon and evening.

IMG_0050IMG_0053

Sunday

It was Easter and we went to brunch at a friends house.  We made a gluten free, boozy french toast and they made an assortment of grain free items including a frittata, hash browns, fresh fruit, bacon and eggs. We were stuffed from a late breakfast so we didn’t end up having lunch and made a heavily adapted version of Half Baked Harvest’s One Pan Tusan Quinoa Bake. 

IMG_0057IMG_0060IMG_0082

 

Leave a Reply

